Journeys in Writing – What is NaNoWriMo anyway?

So, we’ve come to the time of year when it’s time to start thinking about NaNoWriMo again.

This is what I’ve been reading in blogs all over the place, but I’ve only just really decided to take part myself. In fact, I only heard about it for the first time this summer. For those of you who don’t know (I didn’t at first, and man was it confusing..? Surprisingly few blog posts actually explain it! Thank goodness for google!) NaNoWriMo is short of National Novel Writing Month. The challenge is to write a 50,000 word novel from scratch in 30 days. No mean feat!

A few months ago, I would have passed this off as wishful thinking. How could I even hope to achieve that? Me! I never finish anything, unless there is an obligatory, unavoidable and imminently looming deadline on the horizon. And even then it’s a struggle! How could I possibly achieve something so demanding, for which the only consequences of failure would be personal disappointment?

But this time I’m really determined. By putting it out there in this blog post (eep!) I hope to make myself accountable, and therefore spur myself on to actually achieve this. I’ve even been avidly perusing the internet for any advice that can be gleaned from there (I never learn!). Of course, not all of it’s useful, but I have found some great stuff on Kristen Lamb’s blog, which is definitely worth a read.

And if it’s too hard? Well, nothing worth having is ever easy, and no worthwhile achievement can ever be gained without working for it.

And if I fail? Well, at least I’ll have gained something! And there’s always next year…

What about you? Is anyone else doing NaNoWriMo? Any advice or encouragements? I’d love to hear from you.

9 thoughts on “Journeys in Writing – What is NaNoWriMo anyway?

  1. I did my first NaNoWriMo last year, and did come out with a book, although i never got it together enough to publish it. But there is definitely some good things, and lessons, to learn by trying to make the 50,000 word goal in thirty days. If you’ve never tried to write anything of that length, it is definitely a challenge that does teach some writing lessons. By the time i edited it a couple of times (which ends up being a lesson in itself), I ended up with 70,000 words. Although the length isn’t important, the process, revisions, and yes, even the joy of accomplishment along the way as well as afterwards, is definitely worth it. Barbara

    • Thanks so much for your comment Barbara. I certainly have never attempted anything of this length, so I’m anticipating learning some hard lessons along the way! Well done on getting your book out of it. Even unpublished, having written a book is definitely a great achievement 🙂
      Thanks again for taking the time to read this and post such an encouraging comment. Rachel

  2. Good luck! I think I’m going to chicken out this year and just focus on blogging since I’m barely 2 weeks old over here. Enjoy though–I’ll be reading along to see how it goes!

  3. Pingback: New NaNoWriMo Story! | The Claire Violet Thorpe Express

  4. Pingback: Accountability | Sinistra Inksteyne

  5. I’ve taken two shots at NaNoWriMo and failed both times–first year, my father got very sick on Nov 7 and the rest of the month (and much of the following year) was spent at the hospital. The second go-round I just blew it–but I’m going back at it this year. Good luck! Thanks for the resource links.

    • Good luck with your NaNoWriMo attempt this year! Glad to hear you’re keeping at it and not giving up. Persistence is a great achievement in itself!
      Thanks so much for reading and taking the time to comment. Rachel

  6. Pingback: Journeys in Writing – Why My Goal is Just to Keep Going | Journeys in Life

Leave a Reply

