Journeys in Heartbreak – ???

Ok, so this is more of a question post than anything. How on earth do people deal with heartbreak? It’s a thing that happens to everyone, and to some people it happens quite a few times in their life.

Queen Elizabeth II said: “Grief is the price we must pay for love.” And I suppose this is true. But sometimes, while in the middle of heartbreak, this can seem like a very far-away truth.

I found this while perusing Book Mania! on tumblr, and it really struck me.

“The nicest thing I heard during the worst time in my life was this: ‘you have to suffer heartbreak so you know what to tell your daughter when she has her heart broken.’ I’m Alexa Chung and one day I’m going to have a daughter and I’m going to know what to say to her. I’m going to say:

‘Nobody goes through life without having their heart broken and one day you’ll wake up and it will be okay.’

I can’t fucking wait for that day to come.”

— Alexa ChungIt

This, I suppose, is one small positive thing to be taken from heartbreak, that while you are dealing with it you will grow in empathy and understanding, and you will be a stronger person for it.

But, in the here and now, when you are actually going through this stuff, it doesn’t really make anything better. So I’d really like to know. How do you deal with heartbreak? Does a way to deal with it even exist? Or is time really the only cure? (Are there some things even time can’t fix?)

4 thoughts on “Journeys in Heartbreak – ???

  1. Everyone deals with heartbreak differently. I’m emotional, so I cry. I’m a believer, so I pray.
    When people around me are hurting, I’ve learned to just listen to them. Most of the time there are no words of wisdom that will mend the broken heart. Our presence can put pressure on the wound, however, and keep the person from bleeding out.

    • Love that analogy! I always feel helpless when other people are hurting and theirs nothing I can do, and I’m sure they feel the same about me.. But I agree it’s good to have a person to confide in or just to be there when you’re hurting, even if there’s nothing they can do to actually help. Thank you for sharing your experience!

  2. I would be the worst person to dispense advice because I once fled to China on a one-way flight after ending a “relationship,” so I’m not exactly great with the coping skills. However, I do think that time is a big component, as well as allowing yourself to feel the emotions you have without stifling them or trying too quickly to move on. At some point though– you have to make some sort of conscious effort to let go. Even if it sucks, you have to start taking steps towards moving forward in life– sometimes you fake it till you make it. In the end, having hope for the future is more about allowing yourself to see reality differently and make sense of the loss you experienced. Like the quote you referenced, you have to find a “why.”

    • Thanks for your comment! I totally agree with the not-stifling-your-emotions thing. Maybe it’s just a case of doing that till you get sick of it (or everyone gets sick of you!!) and then making the conscious decision to move on? Not sure.. Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experiences though!

Leave a Reply

